Anchorage Zontians have a long, proud tradition of finding a need and filling it. Applause and recognition aren’t sought, rather the satisfaction of making a lasting commitment to the improvement of our community is all our members want. Our service history is diverse and we continue to surprise ourselves with new and interesting projects.

Hiland Mountain Bridges to Success

Highland Mountain Bridge to Success is intensive employment training for inmates who are within six months of being released. The Zonta Club of Anchorage has supported the program since its inception in 2005.

Every year we sponsor the gift bags given to the graduates of the program. Members shop for and then assemble the bags which include a variety of items that the women have requested. One year the graduates were given water bottles at their request in support of the running program recently started.

In 2013, we received recognition for our years of support from the DOJ and Judge Dana Fabe.

Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame

The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame is a collaborative project of the Zonta Club of Anchorage, the Alaska Women’s Network, YWCA Anchorage, the Alaska Women’s Political Caucus, the Anchorage Women’s Commission, the University of Alaska Anchorage and a large number of interested Alaska women.

13 Zontians in the Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame

  • Edith Bullock (Class of 2009)
  • Brideen Crawford Milner (Class of 2021)
  • Bettye Davis (Class of 2010)
  • Mahala Ashley Dickerson (Class of 2009)
  • Dorothy Halland (Class of 2009)
  • Shirley Holloway 9 (Class of 2010)
  • Joerene Hout (Class of 2011)
  • Thelma Langdon (Class of 2013)
  • S Anne Newell (Class of 2013)
  • Leah Webster Peterson (Class of 2011)
  • Mary Louise Rasmuson (Class of 2009)
  • Irene Ryan (Class of 2009)
  • Lidia Selkregg (Class of 2009)